Friday’s Photo of the Week (Counting Coins)

Hand rolled stack of Maos.

Hand rolled stack of Maos.

Early on in South Korea I realized coins accumulated quickly, a 500 Won coin equated to roughly 50 cents and while individually it wasn’t worth much, dump them into an empty glass jar (usually formerly containing instant coffee) and with my contract completed I entered my bank and watched in fascination as the mountain of silver spun through a sorting machine and I left in excess of $200 due the 100 and 500 Won coins.

China didn’t promise as much in the way of a metallic windfall with their 1 Yuan coin being worth just over 15 cents, still I took my overflowing coin jar into the bank and sat down to discover how many Yuans and Maos I’d dumped into the glass receptacle. Turned out to be 265 Yuan, nearly $50! Not bad.

The real story however, is that the bank clerk doing the accounting had to count and roll the coins by hand.

Oh China, you so finance.

***

Assorted coins behind the counter, the state of the envelope.

Assorted coins behind the counter, the state of the envelope.

Bonus pic of my care package from home. It all arrived, I’m guessing the t-shirt was the right colour (red) but the wrong country (Canada)

Leave a Reply

