Friday’s Photo of the Week (Incoming Cambodian Storm)

294Scrolling through old photos I stumbled across one that plays with one of my favourite techniques, chiaroscuro. I discovered the word when I was in high school, it’s Italian for a strong contrast of light and dark. I find I often try to frame my pictures so they have some sort of movement. Catch some action.

This picture I snapped while in Kampot, Cambodia. Near the end of the day in rolled this dark and tempestuous storm cloud to unleash a brief deluge of rain upon the scenic town. The cloud bank moved quickly as it swept down the Teuk Chhou River and out into the Gulf of Thailand.

A quick downpour to wash the dust from the streets and nourish the famous pepper plants of the region.

And to give me a memorable photo.

One thought on “Friday’s Photo of the Week (Incoming Cambodian Storm)

  1. Pingback: Friday’s Photo of the Week (Young Monk in Cambodia) | Byron and his backpacks

Leave a Reply

