A Building Boom in Binhai

Because there is no such thing at too much alliteration!

This is going to be a pic heavy post, so I’m going to put up all the words first and then have a slew of pics underneath. Just to mix things up a bit. When I first arrived in Binhai I did not know what to expect. I didn’t expect it to be so bitterly cold but the trip up proved memorable because I spent the trip speaking French with the Chinese principal of my school in Nanjing. One of my strengths is not assuming too much, my ability to adapt to the situation continues to develop but nothing could have prepared me for this big little town called Binhai. I don’t know how many people live here, I’ve heard over a million but that seems awfully populated for the number of people I saw when I wandered around town.

That doesn’t mean Binhai isn’t preparing to double or triple its population in the not too distant future. The downtown core remains relatively stable with it being built up enough over time that the changes there are cosmetic, but a new ring road loops the city and major infrastructure keeps pace with this aggressive and seemingly endless and somehow pointless mass construction. Binhai climbs upwards and outwards like some sort of lurching, insatiable concrete and re-bar beast.

All the pics below were taken within about a 2 block radius. I can stand in the centre of an intersection and see every building site I’ve posted a picture of. And this building boom isn’t contained to one small corner of Binhai, if anything it is expanding rapidly outwards from the established centre, looking to bring in masses of people from the countryside to the new modern splendour of grown up Binhai.

Oh, and if there are a million people in Binhai town (which means Beach and Sea) it would rank seventh in Canada. Here it is a tiny blip on a map with a very short wikipedia entry.

Now… to the pictures!

Next door apartment. Yay to 7:30AM Sunday start times.

Next door apartment. Yay to 7:30AM Sunday start times.

I am convinced this place exists to taunt me. The shell of a pizza place a block from my house. If they build it, will they come?

I am convinced this place exists to taunt me. The shell of a pizza place a block from my house. If they build it, will they come?

"Landscaping" on school grounds.

“Landscaping” on school grounds.

Building near the school.

Building near the school.

Temporary workers house. Outdoor plumbing.

Temporary workers house. Outdoor plumbing.

Count the cranes.

Count the cranes.

Layers of construction.

Layers of construction.

Steaming hot blacktop.

Steaming hot blacktop.

Fishing for skyscrapers.

Fishing for skyscrapers.

So much scaffolding.

So much scaffolding.

Nearly completed ~ in progress.

Nearly completed ~ in progress.

Four cranes in a row.

Four cranes in a row.

Riverview Crescent.

Riverview Crescent.

The river... oh... and cranes.

The river… oh… and cranes.

Sunset cranes.

Sunset cranes.

 

Leave a Reply

