Happiness Community (Xìngfú Shèqū)

In Binhai, I call 幸福 社区 home.
That’s Xìngfú Shèqū…
pronounced Shin-fu Shar-Tru…
and it means, literally, Happiness Community.

I wish I could adequately explain just the sort of apartment complex I live in… but I’m on vacation now for Spring Festival… so… pictures it shall be!

The super fancy get to live in the super tall towers. I am not super fancy.

The super fancy get to live in the super tall towers. I am not super fancy.

Hey… this is where I live! Almost.

The gates to Shin-fu Shar-Tru... the Happiness Community! (The guys in the central guard box love me... coz... well... I'm easy to track.)

The gates to Shin-fu Shar-Tru… the Happiness Community! (The guys in the central guard box love me… coz… well… I’m easy to track.)

Non-gated community! Suck it Vancouver!

A sun-bleached map of the Happiness Community.

A sun-bleached map of the Happiness Community.

I live in building eight.

Businesses! That little shop on the left is my go-to guy for water, juice, beer.

Businesses! That little shop on the left is my go-to guy for water, juice, beer.

Locals gathered at another shop. Fresh veggies!

Locals gathered at another shop. Fresh veggies!

I have yet to shop here. (Barbershop just past it that I have yet to visit as well. Me and my long flowing locks!)

Between buildings. Where life is lived.

Between buildings. Where life is lived.

I live in building eight.

Entrance to the third and fourth apartments of building eight.

Entrance to the five stories of the third and fourth apartments of building eight.

No wonder I walk up the wrong flight of stairs at least once a week.

There it is. My happy community. I’ve only been here a few weeks but I already love this apartment and this place. The people stop and stare at me, I can get away with nothing. And… even more excitingly, I found a back escape route. (It’s not much, some smart kids realized kicking out five plastic posts cut off five minutes of the walk to Binhai Jiangsu Middle School.

(Up soon, I’ll finally show my apartment.)

5 thoughts on “Happiness Community (Xìngfú Shèqū)

  1. Pingback: Nevermind the Guidebook « Byron and his backpacks
  2. Pingback: Social Chinese Games | Byron and his backpacks
  3. Pingback: Street Food at Xìngfú Shèqū | Byron and his backpacks
  4. Pingback: Spring Haircut | Byron and his backpacks
  5. Pingback: Byron’s Apartment in Binhai | Byron and his backpacks

Leave a Reply

