The Versatile Blogger Award

The Versatile Blogger Award is a community-nominated award.

I have been nominated by Pheebz of Pheebz Eatz and it was quite the surprise. Mostly because I didn’t know she’d ever read my blog, but she seemed to enjoy me raging against Asian bureacracy! Thank you, Pheebz! Please take a look at her perspective on food and living in Japan. And how the Japanese make cherry blossoms seeeeeexy.

The rules:

In a post on your blog, nominate 7 fellow bloggers for The Versatile Blogger Award.
In the same post, add the Versatile Blogger Award.
In the same post, thank the blogger who nominated you in a post with a link back to their blog.
In the same post, share 7 completely random pieces of information about yourself.
In the same post, include this set of rules.
Inform each nominated blogger of their nomination by posting a comment on each of their blogs.

The seven blogs I nominate are:

1) I’ll likely always start with my good friend and constant commentator CWB over at Aussie on the Road. Maybe this is only supposed to be wordpress bloggers but ignorance is bliss. Be sure to check out his recent stuff on living in China, and for a great insightful read track down his Travels with the Black Dog.

2) I love Jack and now she’s blogging at stimpleminded. I have since I met her. She’s living in Toronto right now and I truly wish I could write more like her. If Walt Whitman and Jack Kerouac had a child (and honestly, it wouldn’t surprise me) Jack’s stream of consciousness blogging would be the result.

3) One of my first supporters of this blog was baidanbi who writes prodigiously over at cooking in tongues. A blog about travelling the world and sampling cuisine and learning recipes. Delicious! And hopping across a border for a jug of cider? Cheers.

4) Sarah over at Sarah on the Go apparently follows my blog but hasn’t commented yet. Bad Sarah!  An indie rock chick (I doubt that term will bother her) and Walking Dead fan? If I was on the same continent as her, and she wasn’t always in motion we’d have to have coffee.

5) Anita Mac runs travel bucket list. How can I not adore a woman who travels to tick things off her bucket list? I should likely create a list sometime soon. Anita’s ticking off the Iberian portion of her bucket list right now.

6) I think they just come for the pictures, but iLook seems to enjoy what they see on my blog, currently they seem to be snapping candid shots all over Thailand’s luxurious beaches. I really do need to visit Thailand at some point.

7) During my second trip to Vietnam I met the lovely Kate formerly of travelmebeautiful but now at KaTe GrEeR (seriously, work on that title) takes a lot of pictures, but not enough. Go mock (or encourage) her to take more pics.

Seven random pieces of information about me:

1) I am a published (co-)author. I wrote an RPG called Diaspora with three friends (and lots of other help). It’s been out for 2 1/2 years and won multiple awards.

Me with my book!

2) I give great presents. It is rarely about price, but I have an ability to find really good gifts for friends and family. It takes some time but I enjoy it.

3) My most cherished possession is my passport(s). I’m not much for personal effects, but I love my passports, I’m on my third or forth and I love looking through them to see where I’ve been (and where I want to go).

4) I love collecting typos. Most of the clothing I buy abroad sports a mistake in English which makes it all the more valuable to me.

Hanoi's finest flip-flops, Celvin Klain originals!

5) I refuse to wash my backpack. My green backpack has been to nearly as many countries as I have; through North America, Europe, Africa and Asia. It’s earned that dirt.

6) Uncle not father. I don’t know if I ever want to be a father, I do know I’m a great uncle. Even if sometimes I’m naughty.

Sometimes naughty. Sometimes defeated. Still unclin'.

7) Soccer ref. I played soccer for years, but I was likely a better referee than player. And I’ve reffed on 2 continents, it should be more.

11 thoughts on “The Versatile Blogger Award

    • It’s not so much a nomination as it is a ‘pay-it-forward’ award. Someone gives you the award, you fill it out as a post and entice/coerce 7 more people to do the same. It’s a bit like a chain letter, only it is beneficial.

  1. Congrats and thanks! I like to think it is also a sign of recognition from peers rather than just a chain letter! It says, hey – I enjoy reading your blog! Congrats – I enjoy reading your blog! Thanks for reading mine! I love sharing tales from the road.

    • Talking about travels is one of the best ways to spend a day or to meet new people. I think we’re saying the same thing about what the award means. =D

  2. Congratulations on the award and thanks for nominating me. I’m especially fond of random fact #3. What would we do without our passports? This is going to require some serious or not so serious thought.

    • I’m not sure, border crossings would be a lot more chaotic without passports. Bribes or threats would likely do the trick. I wouldn’t overthink it, just have fun with it.

Leave a Reply

