Friday’s Photo of the Week (Urban Train Crossing)

Moto makes the most of the train crossing. Go moto go!

Today I went down to Phu Nhuan District to talk with a teacher at another school about a course we’re co-teaching. (It’s an awkward course that I don’t have a lot of hope for). After the meeting I just happened across this train crossing, sure enough a train was rumbling through filled with Vietnamese people and livestock. (I’m not joking).

This hit right around rush hour, sometime after 5PM and the caused a massive mini traffic jam. What struck me most wasn’t the train rolling through downtown Saigon, but the fact that the fact the crossing gates were on the road and that they had to be manually pushed pulled into position.

Actually, I want that on my CV.
“Saigon ground based rail crossing perpendicular safety supervisor.”
(Or gate pushing guard).

Two gate pushing guards. (Or urban level metallic defensive barrier monitors.)

Leave a Reply

